COLLEGE OF ARTS AND SCIENCES Department of Mathematics and Statistics

Pullman

Professors, Tenure Track


Name Title Office Phone Email
Asaki, Tom 15 tasaki@wsu.edu - tasaki@wsu.edu
Applied optimization, image and data analysis.
Chen, Xiongzhi 14 xiongzhi.chen@wsu.edu - xiongzhi.chen@wsu.edu
Multiple comparison, modeling with latent structure, properties of exponential families, analysis of non-Euclidean data, spectra of random matrices, inference on stochastic differential equations.
Dasgupta, Nairanjana 16 dasgupta@wsu.edu - dasgupta@wsu.edu
Non-parametric Statistics, Multiple Comparisons, Comparison to Control, Logistic Distribution, Optimal Designs, Design of Experiments, Innovative Methods of Teaching Statistics, The history of statistics.
DeFord, Daryl 14 daryl.deford@wsu.edu daryl.deford@wsu.edu
Applications of algebraic and combinatorial methods in data analysis, particularly in the social sciences. Also spectral graph theory, complex networks, political redistricting, time series analysis, and enumerative combinatorics.
Hall, William 14 w.hall@wsu.edu - w.hall@wsu.edu
Mathematics Education
Hudelson, Matthew 15 mhudelson@wsu.edu - mhudelson@wsu.edu
Combinatorics and Discrete Geometry, Random Algorithms.
Jandhyala, Krishna (Assoc Chair) 16 jandhyala@wsu.edu - jandhyala@wsu.edu
Change-point problems for statistical models and their applications, Quality control, Environmental monitoring, Econometrics.
Kaul, Abhishek 14 abhishek.kaul@wsu.edu - abhishek.kaul@wsu.edu
High dimensional change point regression models; computational statistics and statistical learning.
Khapalov, Alex 16 khapala@wsu.edu - khapala@wsu.edu
Applied Analysis; Mathematical Control Theory for Linear and Nonlinear Partial Differential Equations; Modeling, Wellposedness and Motion Capabilities for Swimming Phenomenon; Systems Theory: Controllability, Stabilization, Observability and Unique Continuation; Control of Power Systems.
Li, Haijun 16 liklu@wsu.edu liklu@wsu.edu
Probability, Stochastic Processes, Risk Analysis.
Liu, Sheng-Chi 15 shengchi.liu@wsu.edu - shengchi.liu@wsu.edu
Number theory, automorphic forms and representation theory.
Manoranjan, V.S. 16 mano@wsu.edu 1210 NW Clifford St. mano@wsu.edu
Environmental Problems, Industrial Applications, Mathematical & Computer Modeling.
McDonald, Judith 16 jmcdonald1@wsu.edu 535 SE Water St. jmcdonald1@wsu.edu
Matrix Analysis, Linear Algebra
Moore, Charles (Chair) 16 cnmoore@wsu.edu - cnmoore@wsu.edu
Analysis, Harmonic analysis, Partial Differential Equations, Probability Theory
Panchenko, Alexander 16 panchenko@wsu.edu - panchenko@wsu.edu
Homogenization in Partial Differential Equations with Application to Materials Science, Accoustics of Porous Media and Granular Materials, Inverse Problems for Elliptic Equations, Mathematical Tomography.
Schreyer, Lynn 16 lynn.schreyer@wsu.edu - lynn.schreyer@wsu.edu
Deterministic Modeling, PDEs, Continuum Mechanics
Schwartz, Elissa 15 ejs@wsu.edu - ejs@wsu.edu
Mathematical biology, differential equations, stochastic models, HIV, epidemiology, infectious diseases.
Tsatsomeros, Michael 16 tsat@wsu.edu 230 NW Joe St. tsat@wsu.edu
Matrix theory, linear algebra and its applications.
Vixie, Kevin 15 kvixie@wsu.edu - kvixie@wsu.edu
1) Geometric Analysis, defined rather broadly to be geometric measure theory with pieces of harmonic and variational analysis as well as PDEs, including some aspects of geometry in high and infinite dimensions (e.g. concentration of measure, random projections), and 2) prototyping algorithms implementing ideas from 1) for data analysis challenges.
Voulgarakis, Nikos 15 n.voulgarakis@wsu.edu - n.voulgarakis@wsu.edu
Numerical Analysis, Multiphysics/Multiscale Modeling, Stochastic Processes, Molecular and Fluid Dynamics, Nonlinear Dynamics.
Wang, Yuan 15 yuan.wang@wsu.edu - yuan.wang@wsu.edu
Statistical inference on complex data objects using Bayesian methods, nonparametric methods, and semi-parametric methods.
Wang, Xueying/Snow 15 xueying.wang@wsu.edu - xueying.wang@wsu.edu
Mathematical Biology
Yin, Hong-Ming 16 hyin@wsu.edu 1540 Nicole Ct. hyin@wsu.edu
Financial Engineering and Portfolio Management; Applied Mathematics; Partial Differential Equations, Inverse and Ill-posed problems; Electromagnetic Fields and Semiconductor/Superconductor modeling.

Vancouver

Professors, Tenure Track


Name Title Office Phone Email
Dimitrov, Alex 15 alex.dimitrov@vancouver.wsu.edu - alex.dimitrov@vancouver.wsu.edu
Mathematical Modeling, Mathematical Neuroscience, Information Theory and Applied Probability.
Krishnamoorthy, Bala 16 kbala@wsu.edu - kbala@wsu.edu
Computational topology and geometry, linear and integer optimization, computational biology, biomedical informatics.
Slavit, David 16 dslavit@wsu.edu 14204 NE Salmon Creek Avenue dslavit@wsu.edu
Mathematics Education.
Strigul, Nikolay 15 nick.strigul@wsu.edu - nick.strigul@wsu.edu
Theoretical and experimental ecology, complex adaptive systems, mathematical biology, biostatistics, scaling methods, application of mathematical modeling to ecological problems.

Pullman

Professors, Career Track


Name Title Office Phone Email
Johnson, Dean/Harry 33 dean_johnson@wsu.edu - dean_johnson@wsu.edu
Educational statistics, Teaching of statistics, Statistical consulting, Item response theory.
Reiss, Daniel 18 daniel.reiss@wsu.edu daniel.reiss@wsu.edu
Number theory, modular forms, mathematics education.

Everett

Professors, Career Track


Name Title Office Phone Email
Lapin, Sergey 33 slapin@wsu.edu 1245 Latour Peak Ct. slapin@wsu.edu
Numerical modeling of wave phenomena, numerical simulation of fluid flow, infectious diseases modeling.

Tri-cities

Professors, Career Track


Name Title Office Phone Email
Fiedler, Kevin 18 kevin.fiedler@wsu.edu kevin.fiedler@wsu.edu
Image processing, hydrodynamics, mathematics education.

Vancouver

Professors, Career Track


Name Title Office Phone Email
Salos, George 18 george.f.salos@wsu.edu - george.f.salos@wsu.edu
-

Pullman

Professors, Career Track


Name Title Office Phone Email
Eld, Justin 19 justin_eld@wsu.edu - justin_eld@wsu.edu
Hampson, David 19 dhampson@wsu.edu - dhampson@wsu.edu
Geometry, History and Development of Mathematics, Math Education
Jacobs, Christy 19 christy_jacobs@wsu.edu - christy_jacobs@wsu.edu
Lesperance, Mark 19 mark.lesperance@wsu.edu - mark.lesperance@wsu.edu
Property and casualty actuarial methods. Instruction on introductory actuarial techniques.
Martin, Jeanette 20 jcmartin@wsu.edu 930 NW Ritchie Street jcmartin@wsu.edu
Mathematics Education.
Morgan, Mindy 19 mindymorgan@wsu.edu - mindymorgan@wsu.edu
Spread of infectious diseases, epidemiology, and compartmental modeling.
Oliver, Lydia 19 lydia.oliver@wsu.edu - lydia.oliver@wsu.edu
Biological Mathematical Modeling
Pacioni, Claudia 19 cseifried@wsu.edu - cseifried@wsu.edu
Remaley, Eric 20 ear@wsu.edu 240 NW Joe St ear@wsu.edu
Topology and Discrete Dynamic Systems.
Sablan, Emily 20 esablan@wsu.edu - esablan@wsu.edu
Sakabe, Chie 19 c.sakabe@wsu.edu - c.sakabe@wsu.edu
Wen, Xiaoming/Maureen 19 maureenwen@wsu.edu - maureenwen@wsu.edu
Engineering reliability, data analysis, and mathematics education.
Zhang, Dawn 20 danzhang@wsu.edu - danzhang@wsu.edu
Discrete mathematics, Combinatorics and Graph Theory.

Tri-cities

Professors, Career Track


Name Title Office Phone Email
Learn, Ryan 19 ryan.learn@wsu.edu ryan.learn@wsu.edu
Mitchell, Danny 19 djmitchell@wsu.edu djmitchell@wsu.edu
Selmi, Saranah 19 saranah.selmi@wsu.edu - saranah.selmi@wsu.edu

Vancouver

Professors, Career Track


Name Title Office Phone Email
Krouss, Paul 20 pkrouss@vancouver.wsu.edu - pkrouss@vancouver.wsu.edu
Percolation Theory
Sotomayor, L. Rocio 21 r.sotomayor@wsu.edu - r.sotomayor@wsu.edu
General ideas of probability theory, stochastic analysis and stochastic control, and the application of these ideas to problems in Finance and Economics. I am also interested in applications to risk management and insurance, as well as regime switching models and business cycles.

Vancouver

Lecturer


Name Title Office Phone Email
Black, Sammy 12 samson.black@wsu.edu samson.black@wsu.edu
McGrade, Frank 12 frank.mcgrade@wsu.edu - frank.mcgrade@wsu.edu
Sung, Jin Sun 12 jin.sung@wsu.edu jin.sung@wsu.edu

Pullman

Post-Doctoral


Name Title Office Phone Email
Hilliard, Zach 25 zachary.hilliard@wsu.edu - zachary.hilliard@wsu.edu
Parabolic and elliptic partial differential equations, numerical partial differential equations, Cahn-Hilliard equation.

Vancouver

Post-Doctoral


Name Title Office Phone Email
Erickson, Adam 25 adam.erickson@wsu.edu adam.erickson@wsu.edu
Forest ecosystem modeling
Pirotta, Enrico 25 enrico.pirotta@wsu.edu - enrico.pirotta@wsu.edu
Population consequences of disturbance, marine ecology, behavioral ecology.

Pullman

Adjunct


Name Title Office Phone Email
Cooper, Kevin 11 kcooper@wsu.edu - kcooper@wsu.edu
Numerical analysis, differential equations, scientific computing. Head of mathematics computing operations.
Higgins, Abigail 11 abigail.higgins@wsu.edu abigail.higgins@wsu.edu
Johnston, Anna 11 jannaston@gmail.com - jannaston@gmail.com
Malone Buoy, Daniel 11 daniel.malonebuoy@wsu.edu daniel.malonebuoy@wsu.edu

Vancouver

Adjunct


Name Title Office Phone Email
DeBower, Kari 11 kari.debower@wsu.edu kari.debower@wsu.edu
Lopez, Zoie 11 zoie.lopez@wsu.edu zoie.lopez@wsu.edu
Rumyantseva, Olga 11 olga.rumyantseva@wsu.edu olga.rumyantseva@wsu.edu
Valenciano, Julissa 11 julissa.valenciano@wsu.edu julissa.valenciano@wsu.edu

Vancouver

Affiliate Graduate Faculty


Name Title Office Phone Email
Sottile, Matthew 31 matthew.sottile@wsu.edu 3574 SE Grant St. matthew.sottile@wsu.edu
Image processing, modeling and simulation, data science, discrete mathematics.

Pullman

Adjoint


Name Title Office Phone Email
Tosic, Predrag 13 predrag.tosic@wsu.edu - predrag.tosic@wsu.edu
-

Pullman

Professors Emeriti


Name Title Office Phone Email
Alldredge, Richard 2 alldredg@wsu.edu - alldredg@wsu.edu
Ariyawansa, Ari 2 ari@wsu.edu - ari@wsu.edu
Barnes, David 2 - -
Cooper, Sandra 2 sccooper@wsu.edu SE 220 Jackson sccooper@wsu.edu
Mathematics Education, Rational Approximation, Continued Fractions
DeTemple, Duane 2 - -
Dillon, Bob 2 rhdillon@wsu.edu 1215 NW Douglas Dr. rhdillon@wsu.edu
Mathematical modeling, mathematical biology, numerical partial differential equations, computational biofluids.
Evans, Marc 2 marcevan@wsu.edu - marcevan@wsu.edu
Estimation for generalized linear mixed models, population size estimation and inference for designed experiments with discrete response variables.
Genz, Alan 2 genz@math.wsu.edu - genz@math.wsu.edu
Numerical Integration, Multiple Integrals, Statistical Analysis.
Jacroux, Michael 2 jacroux@math.wsu.edu - jacroux@math.wsu.edu
Experimental design, linear models, and quality control.
Johnson, Roy 2 - -
Jordan, J.H. 2 - -
Kallaher, Mike 2 mkallaher@wsu.edu 235 NW Joe Street mkallaher@wsu.edu
Kent, Darrell 2 - -
Knott, Libby 2 lknott@wsu.edu - lknott@wsu.edu
K-16 mathematics education and professional development.
Kucera, Jan 2 - -
Long, Calvin 2 - -
Mifflin, Robert 2 mifflin@math.wsu.edu - mifflin@math.wsu.edu
Milham, Chuck 2 - -
Nazareth, Larry 2 - -
NG, Dina 2 - -
Pascual, Francis/Jave 2 jave@wsu.edu - jave@wsu.edu
Quality Assurance Methods, Process Monitoring by Control Charts, Engineering Reliability, Failure-Time Models and Data Analysis, Accelerated Life Tests.
Saunders, S.C. 2 - -
Schumaker, Mark 2 schumaker@wsu.edu - schumaker@wsu.edu
Compartmental models of viral infections.
Vincent, Kimberly 2 kvincent@wsu.edu 112 S. Hayes kvincent@wsu.edu
Collegiate and pre-service mathematics education.
Watkins, David 2 watkins@math.wsu.edu 265 SW Shirley St. watkins@math.wsu.edu
Webb, William 2 webb@math.wsu.edu 2190 Moser Ct webb@math.wsu.edu
Wiser, H.C. 2 - -
Wollkind, David 2 dwollkind@wsu.edu - dwollkind@wsu.edu