COLLEGE OF ARTS AND SCIENCES Department of Mathematics and Statistics

Pullman

Professors, Tenure Track




Name Title Office Phone Email
Asaki, Tom Assoc Prof, Tenure Track Neill 228 509-335-3135 tasaki@wsu.edu
Derivative-Free and blackbox optimization, mixed-variable optimization, discrete transformation discovery, inverse problems in data and image analysis.
Cai, Chencheng Asst Prof, Tenure Track Neill 405 509-335-3141 chencheng.cai@wsu.edu
Causal inference and experimental design under interference; Time series analysis; high-dimensional matrix decomposition; Monte Carlo methods.
Chen, Xiongzhi Assoc Prof, Tenure Track Neill 230 509-335-3150 xiongzhi.chen@wsu.edu
Simultaneous inference, theoretical foundation of analysis of non-Euclidean data and of deep learning models, statistics of stochastic differential equations, and harmonic analysis.
Dasgupta, Nairanjana Prof, Tenure Track Neill 403 509-335-3736 dasgupta@wsu.edu
Genomics and Bio-informatics. Dealing with large scale multiplicity in genomic, proteomic and metabolomic data sets. Dealing with dependencies in binary and ordinal data. Modeling growth and bloom phases of WA apples. Multiple Comparisons, Comparison to Control, Logistic Distribution, Optimal Designs.
DeFord, Daryl Asst Prof, Tenure Track Neill 328 509-335-7760 daryl.deford@wsu.edu
My research focuses on applications of combinatorial and algebraic methods to the analysis of social data including political redistricting and social network analysis. Recent projects include the following with more details on
Hudelson, Matthew Assoc Prof, Tenure Track Neill 330 509-335-3125 mhudelson@wsu.edu
Probabilistic approaches to geometric and combinatorial problems, methods for maximizing content of a j-simplex bounded by the unit d-cube, and random walks on graphs.
Jandhyala, Krishna (Assoc Chair) Prof, Tenure Track Neill 407 509-335-8450/ -8652 jandhyala@wsu.edu
The problem of multiple change-points in time-series with applications to environmental data.
Kaul, Abhishek Asst Prof, Tenure Track Neill 217 509-335-5279 abhishek.kaul@wsu.edu
High dimensional change point regression models; computational statistics and statistical learning.
Khapalov, Alex Prof, Tenure Track Neill 307 509-335-3172 khapala@wsu.edu
Analysis of swimming models, described by the coupled fluid and (integro-) ordinary differential equations, and their motion capabilities from the viewpoint of controllability theory. Controllability of linear and nonlinear partial differential equations, governed by multiplicative (bilinear) controls. Smart materials, point sensors and actuators, including mobile ones.
Li, Haijun Prof, Tenure Track Neill 317 509-335-9812 liklu@wsu.edu
Copula Theory for Multivariate Extremes, Risk and Choquet Capacities, Free Probability under Group-Invariance
Liu, Sheng-Chi Assoc Prof, Tenure Track Neill 207 509-335-8648 shengchi.liu@wsu.edu
Analytic number theory, especially on L-functions and analytic theory of automorphic forms on GL(n).
Manoranjan, V.S. Prof, Tenure Track Neill 231 509-335-7811 mano@wsu.edu
MATHEMATICAL MODELING – Pattern Formation, Contaminant Transport, Spread of Diseases, Population Models & Solitons;COMPUTATIONAL MATHEMATICS – Finite Element/Finite Difference methods, Spectral methods, Operator Splitting methods, Iterative methods & Machine Learning;MATHEMATICS LEARNING – Interactive online lessons & Evidence-based Experiential learning
McDonald, Judith Prof, Tenure Track Neill 323 509-335-3046 jmcdonald1@wsu.edu
Eventually nonnegative matrices, nonnegative matrices, M-matrices, inverse eigenvalue problem, spectrally arbitrary patterns.
Moore, Charles Prof, Tenure Track Neill 115/227 509-335-4918 cnmoore@wsu.edu
Probabilistic behavior of harmonic functions, free boundary problems, Stefan problems
Panchenko, Alexander Prof, Tenure Track Neill 329 509-335-3127 panchenko@wsu.edu
Network approximation for effective parameters of concentrated suspensions, homogenization of unconsolidated composites and media with moving interfaces, modeling of osteoporosis and blood circulation, and inverse conductivity problem with rough conductivities.
Schreyer, Lynn Prof, Tenure Track Neill 225 509-335-3152 lynn.schreyer@wsu.edu
Deformation of, Flow through, Evaporation in Porous Media
Schwartz, Elissa Assoc Prof, Tenure Track Neill 309 509-335-3142 ejs@wsu.edu
Coupling mathematical and experimental approaches to examine host-parasite dynamics and for the development of effective vaccines.
Tsatsomeros, Michael Prof, Tenure Track Neill 229 509-335-3144 tsat@wsu.edu
Linear algebra, matrix analysis, especially the theory of nonnegative matrices and their generalizations. Particular interests include the numerical range; graphs and patterns associated with matrices; numerical linear algebra; applications in dynamical systems, control theory, data analysis, machine learning and artificial intelligence.
Vixie, Kevin Assoc Prof, Tenure Track Neill 203 kvixie@wsu.edu
Examples of research projects past and present: sparse dynamic tomography, the development of image metrics which ignore unimportant differences, the sharp characterization of minimizers to variational functionals like the L1TV and ROF functionals, the flat norm for images and shapes, analysis and geometric measure theory in metric spaces, and the propagation of uncertainty through image analysis.
Voulgarakis, Nikos Assoc Prof, Tenure Track Neill 325 509-335-3136 n.voulgarakis@wsu.edu
Nonlinear Dynamics, Stochastic Processes, Fluid Dynamics at small scales, Mathematical Biology and Biophysics
Wang, Xueying/Snow Assoc Prof, Tenure Track Neill 201 509-335-6996 xueying.wang@wsu.edu
Integrating techniques from the fields of dynamical systems, stochastic processes and statistics to develop and analyze mathematical models. Application areas: (a) computational neuroscience; (b) infectious disease modeling; (c) population ecology.
Wang, Yuan Assoc Prof, Tenure Track Neill 409 509-335-3161 yuan.wang@wsu.edu
Objected-Oriented Data Analysis, Bayesian Statistics, Non-parametric methods, classification and clustering analysis
Wilhelm, Annie Assoc Prof, Tenure Track Neill 327 335-8647 anne.wilhelm@wsu.edu
Mathematics education: mathematics teacher learning and practice.
Yin, Hong-Ming Prof, Tenure Track Neill 303 509-335-7263 hyin@wsu.edu
Partial Differential Equations and Applications; Mathematical Modeling and Analysis in Life Sciences; Financial Engineering and Portfolio Management.

Vancouver

Professors, Tenure Track




Name Title Office Phone Email
Dimitrov, Alex Assoc Prof, Tenure Track Vanc 360-546-9385 alex.dimitrov@wsu.edu
Information-theoretic and probabilistic approaches to neural computing and cognitive processes; non-linear neuronal models; chaotic dynamical systems; non-linear signal processing and prediction; systems identification; neural-based intelligent agents. Neuromorphic computing.
Krishnamoorthy, Bala Prof, Tenure Track Vanc 360-546-9167 kbala@wsu.edu
Applied algebraic topology, Geometric measure theory,Mathematical aspects of 3D printing,Discrete and nonlinear optimization,Geometry and topology in physical chemistry,Computational models for surgical and biomedical applications,Computational biology.
Slavit, David Prof, Tenure Track Vanc 360-546-9653 dslavit@wsu.edu
Teacher collaboration and research; Student learning.
Strigul, Nikolay Assoc Prof, Tenure Track Vanc 360-546-9655 nick.strigul@wsu.edu
Individual-based models, forest dynamics, ecotoxicology.

Pullman

Professors, Career Track




Name Title Office Phone Email
Cortez, Abigail Scholarly Asst Prof Neill 324 509-335-5110 abigail.higgins@wsu.edu
Teacher Preparation, Undergraduate Mathematics Education.
DeJong, Trey Scholarly Asst Prof Neill 401 509-335-3126 trey.dejong@wsu.edu
Statistics in educational psychology, quantitative psychology, statistical consulting, interdisciplinary statistics, multilevel modeling, canonical correlation, moderation analysis.
Johnson, Dean/Harry Scholarly Prof Neill 414 509-335-2907 dean_johnson@wsu.edu
Statistical Consulting and Statistics Education
Reiss, Daniel Scholarly Asst Prof Clev 130E 509-335-0844 daniel.reiss@wsu.edu
Number theory, modular forms, mathematics education.

Everett

Professors, Career Track




Name Title Office Phone Email
Lapin, Sergey Scholarly Prof Evrt 405 425-405-1780 slapin@wsu.edu
Numerical modeling of biological fluids, fluid-structure interaction problems

Pullman

Professors, Career Track




Name Title Office Phone Email
Eld, Justin Teaching Asst Prof Neill 129 509-335-6971 justin_eld@wsu.edu
Teaching
Jacobs, Christy Teaching Assoc Prof Neill 331 - christy_jacobs@wsu.edu
Improving mathematical understanding for students in foundational courses through use of a flipped classroom, incorporating learning assistants into the classroom, and a holistic approach to teaching where we treat students as people first, students second.
Martin, Jeanette Teaching Assoc Prof Neill 313 509-335-4308 jcmartin@wsu.edu
Integrating Technology into the Classroom.
Morgan, Mindy Teaching Asst Prof - - mindymorgan@wsu.edu
Teaching, statistics and applied mathematics.
Moyo, Peterson Teaching Asst Prof Neill 332 509-335-3134 peterson.moyo@wsu.edu
Oliver, Lydia Teaching Asst Prof Neill 129 509-335-6971 lydia.oliver@wsu.edu
Teaching
Remaley, Eric Teaching Assoc Prof Neill 315 509-335-2134 ear@wsu.edu
Teaching
Sablan, Emily Teaching Assoc Prof Neill 311 509-335-7256 esablan@wsu.edu
Teaching
Sakabe, Chie Teaching Asst Prof Neill 130 509-335-6293 c.sakabe@wsu.edu
Teaching
Wen, Xiaoming/Maureen Teaching Asst Prof Neill 305 509-335-3049 maureenwen@wsu.edu
Teaching, statistics, and applied mathematics.
Zhang, Dawn Teaching Assoc Prof Neill 319 509-335-0507 danzhang@wsu.edu
Graph Theory and Teaching.

Everett

Professors, Career Track




Name Title Office Phone Email
Nurmukhametov, Gani Teaching Asst Prof Evrt 404 (425) 405-1659 gani.nurmukhametov@wsu.edu
Teaching data analytics and statistics courses.

Tri-cities

Professors, Career Track




Name Title Office Phone Email
Learn, Ryan Teaching Asst Prof TC 509-372-7138 ryan.learn@wsu.edu
Mitchell, Dan Teaching Asst Prof TC 509-372-7184 djmitchell@wsu.edu
Selmi, Saranah Teaching Asst Prof TC 509-372-7427 saranah.selmi@wsu.edu

Vancouver

Professors, Career Track




Name Title Office Phone Email
Krouss, Paul Teaching Assoc Prof Vanc 360-546-9384 pkrouss@wsu.edu
Dependent Site Percolation Models.
McGrade, Frank Teaching Asst Prof Vanc 360-546-9788 frank.mcgrade@wsu.edu
Salos, George Teaching Asst Prof Vanc 360-546-9344 george.f.salos@wsu.edu
Teaching
Sotomayor, L. Rocio Teaching Prof Vanc 360-546-9386 r.sotomayor@wsu.edu
Focus is on learning alternative teaching methods for mathematics in general, and for probability and financial/business mathematics in particular.
Sung, Jin Teaching Asst Prof Vanc 360-546-9788 jin.sung@wsu.edu

Pullman

Lecturer




Name Title Office Phone Email
Emehiser, Ben Lecturer Neill 129 509-335-6971 benjamin.emehiser@wsu.edu
Nichols, David Lecturer Neill 305 509-335-3049 david.nichols@wsu.edu
Sawyer, Erica Lecturer Neill 128 509-335-8192 erica.sawyer@wsu.edu

Tri-cities

Lecturer




Name Title Office Phone Email
Hodges, Daniel Lecturer TC 509-372-7121 daniel.c.hodges@wsu.edu

Vancouver

Post-Doctoral




Name Title Office Phone Email
Erickson, Adam Post Doc Vanc 360-546-9788 adam.erickson@wsu.edu

Pullman

Adjunct




Name Title Office Phone Email
Cooper, Kevin Adjunct Neill 322 509-335-4771 kcooper@wsu.edu
I enjoy working on interesting problems in any areas involving applied and computational mathematics. Over the years I have used math to assist with problems in economics, food science, physics, anthropology, and other areas.

Vancouver

Adjunct




Name Title Office Phone Email
DeBower, Kari Adjunct Vanc - kari.debower@wsu.edu
Teacher preparation, assessment, course design, and neuroscience-informed math education strategies.
Dunaway, Michelle Adjunct Vanc michelle.dunaway@wsu.edu
Fong Wilson, Mai Adjunct Vanc mailing.fongwilson@wsu.edu
Rumyantseva, Olga Adjunct Vanc olga.rumyantseva@wsu.edu

Pullman

Adjunct-Courtesy




Name Title Office Phone Email
Johnston, Anna Adjunct-Courtesy - - jannaston@gmail.com
Cryptography/Cryptanalysis, number theoretic transforms relating to coding theory, and understanding the threat/hype/furor of Cryptographically Relevant Quantum Computers (CRQC) on existing algorithms
Stewart, Sepideh Adjunct-Courtesy sepidehstewart@ou.edu
Tosic, Predrag Adjunct-Courtesy - - predrag.tosic@wsu.edu
-

Vancouver

Adjunct-Courtesy




Name Title Office Phone Email
Sottile, Matthew Adjunct-Courtesy Vanc - matthew.sottile@wsu.edu
Image processing for microscopy applications in biology; dynamics of agent-based interaction models; algorithms and languages for image and graph-oriented data science.

Pullman

Professors Emeriti




Name Title Office Phone Email
Alldredge, Richard Emeritus - - alldredg@wsu.edu
Ariyawansa, Ari Emeritus - - ari@wsu.edu
Former department chairman
Cooper, Sandra Emeritus - - sccooper@wsu.edu
Mathematics Education
DeTemple, Duane Emeritus - -
Dillon, Bob Emeritus - - rhdillon@wsu.edu
Fluid-elastic problems in biofluids with moving boundaries, e.g. bacterial motility, chemotaxis and aggregation, ciliated and flagellated movement, vertebrate limb bud growth.
Evans, Marc Emeritus - 335-8647 marcevan@wsu.edu
Estimation for multiple recapture models having heterogeneous captures, and inference for binary and multinomial responses from designed experiments with randomization restrictions.
Genz, Alan Emeritus Neill 232 335-2131 genz@math.wsu.edu
Numerical computation of multiple integrals, with focus on computational statistics.
Jacroux, Michael Emeritus Neill 205 335-3130 jacroux@math.wsu.edu
Experimental design.
Jordan, J.H. Emeritus - -
Kallaher, Mike Emeritus - - mkallaher@wsu.edu
Obtaining reasonable classification of finite translation planes, and even affine planes, which arise in block design problems and coding theory.
Kent, Darrell Emeritus - -
Knott, Libby Emeritus - - lknott@wsu.edu
Mathematics Education: Conceptual understanding of mathematics; use of representation, proof and justification in mathematics; mathematical discourse.
Kucera, Jan Emeritus - -
Mifflin, Robert Emeritus - - mifflin@math.wsu.edu
Development of efficient computational methods for solving appli ed optimization problems defined with constraints on the problem variables and/or nonsmooth functions of the variables. Also, developing decomposition and dual techniques for solving optimal allocation of resources problems that have large numbers of decision variables and/or resource constraints
Milham, Chuck Emeritus - -
Nazareth, Larry Emeritus - -
NG, Dina Emeritus - -
Pascual, Francis/Jave Emeritus - - jave@wsu.edu
Failure-Time Models and Data Analysis, Competing Risks, Accelerated Life Test Planning, Quality Control.
Schumaker, Mark Emeritus - - schumaker@wsu.edu
Models of the light reactions of photosynthesis. Relationship between sample paths and boundary conditions of partial differential equations modeling diffusion processes.
Vincent, Kimberly Emeritus - - kvincent@wsu.edu
Creating gender inclusive mathematics education through the development of feminist pedagogy.
Watkins, David Emeritus - - watkins@math.wsu.edu
Eigenvalue problems.
Webb, William Emeritus - - webb@math.wsu.edu
Fair division, recurrence sequences, binomial and generalized binomial coefficients, and polynomials over finite fields, as well as application of these concepts in cryptography.
Wiser, H.C. Emeritus - -
Wollkind, David Emeritus - - dwollkind@wsu.edu
Solidification of metals and alloys, convection of fluids and aerosols, folding of sedimentary rock multi-layers, development of stars in the outer arms of spiral galaxies, dynamics of predator-prey biological control interactions and the occurrence of Turing structures in chemical reaction-diffusion systems. The main emphasis in all these investigations is to compare mathematical predictions with