COLLEGE OF ARTS AND SCIENCES Department of Mathematics and Statistics

Faculty

Asaki, Tom
Assoc Prof, Tenure Track
Neill 228
Pullman
509-335-3135
tasaki@wsu.edu
Derivative-Free and blackbox optimization, mixed-variable optimization, discrete transformation discovery, inverse problems in data and image analysis.
Cai, Chencheng
Asst Prof, Tenure Track
Neill 405
Pullman
509-335-3141
chencheng.cai@wsu.edu
Causal inference and experimental design under interference; Time series analysis; high-dimensional matrix decomposition; Monte Carlo methods.
Chen, Xiongzhi
Assoc Prof, Tenure Track
Neill 230
Pullman
509-335-3150
xiongzhi.chen@wsu.edu
Simultaneous inference, theoretical foundation of analysis of non-Euclidean data and of deep learning models, statistics of stochastic differential equations, and harmonic analysis.
Cooper, Kevin
Adjunct
Neill 322
Pullman
509-335-4771
kcooper@wsu.edu
I enjoy working on interesting problems in any areas involving applied and computational mathematics. Over the years I have used math to assist with problems in economics, food science, physics, anthropology, and other areas.
Cortez, Abigail
Scholarly Asst Prof
Neill 324
Pullman
509-335-5110
abigail.higgins@wsu.edu
Teacher Preparation, Undergraduate Mathematics Education.
Dasgupta, Nairanjana
Prof, Tenure Track
Neill 403
Pullman
509-335-3736
dasgupta@wsu.edu
Genomics and Bio-informatics. Dealing with large scale multiplicity in genomic, proteomic and metabolomic data sets. Dealing with dependencies in binary and ordinal data. Modeling growth and bloom phases of WA apples. Multiple Comparisons, Comparison to Control, Logistic Distribution, Optimal Designs.
DeBower, Kari
Adjunct
Vancouver
-
kari.debower@wsu.edu
Teacher preparation, assessment, course design, and neuroscience-informed math education strategies.
DeFord, Daryl
Asst Prof, Tenure Track
Neill 328
Pullman
509-335-7760
daryl.deford@wsu.edu
My research focuses on applications of combinatorial and algebraic methods to the analysis of social data including political redistricting and social network analysis. Recent projects include the following with more details on
DeJong, Trey
Scholarly Asst Prof
Neill 401
Pullman
509-335-3126
trey.dejong@wsu.edu
Statistics in educational psychology, quantitative psychology, statistical consulting, interdisciplinary statistics, multilevel modeling, canonical correlation, moderation analysis.
Dimitrov, Alex
Assoc Prof, Tenure Track
Vancouver
360-546-9385
alex.dimitrov@wsu.edu
Information-theoretic and probabilistic approaches to neural computing and cognitive processes; non-linear neuronal models; chaotic dynamical systems; non-linear signal processing and prediction; systems identification; neural-based intelligent agents. Neuromorphic computing.
Dunaway, Michelle
Adjunct
Vancouver
michelle.dunaway@wsu.edu
Eld, Justin
Teaching Asst Prof
Neill 129
Pullman
509-335-6971
justin_eld@wsu.edu
Teaching
Emehiser, Ben
Lecturer
Neill 129
Pullman
509-335-6971
benjamin.emehiser@wsu.edu
Fong Wilson, Mai
Adjunct
Vancouver
mailing.fongwilson@wsu.edu
Hodges, Daniel
Lecturer
Tri-Cities
509-372-7121
daniel.c.hodges@wsu.edu
Hudelson, Matthew
Assoc Prof, Tenure Track
Neill 330
Pullman
509-335-3125
mhudelson@wsu.edu
Probabilistic approaches to geometric and combinatorial problems, methods for maximizing content of a j-simplex bounded by the unit d-cube, and random walks on graphs.
Jacobs, Christy
Teaching Assoc Prof
Neill 331
Pullman
-
christy_jacobs@wsu.edu
Improving mathematical understanding for students in foundational courses through use of a flipped classroom, incorporating learning assistants into the classroom, and a holistic approach to teaching where we treat students as people first, students second.
Jandhyala, Krishna (Assoc Chair)
Prof, Tenure Track
Neill 407
Pullman
509-335-8450/ -8652
jandhyala@wsu.edu
The problem of multiple change-points in time-series with applications to environmental data.
Johnson, Dean/Harry
Scholarly Prof
Neill 414
Pullman
509-335-2907
dean_johnson@wsu.edu
Statistical Consulting and Statistics Education
Kaul, Abhishek
Asst Prof, Tenure Track
Neill 217
Pullman
509-335-5279
abhishek.kaul@wsu.edu
High dimensional change point regression models; computational statistics and statistical learning.
Khapalov, Alex
Prof, Tenure Track
Neill 307
Pullman
509-335-3172
khapala@wsu.edu
Analysis of swimming models, described by the coupled fluid and (integro-) ordinary differential equations, and their motion capabilities from the viewpoint of controllability theory. Controllability of linear and nonlinear partial differential equations, governed by multiplicative (bilinear) controls. Smart materials, point sensors and actuators, including mobile ones.
Krishnamoorthy, Bala
Prof, Tenure Track
Vancouver
360-546-9167
kbala@wsu.edu
Applied algebraic topology, Geometric measure theory,Mathematical aspects of 3D printing,Discrete and nonlinear optimization,Geometry and topology in physical chemistry,Computational models for surgical and biomedical applications,Computational biology.
Krouss, Paul
Teaching Assoc Prof
Vancouver
360-546-9384
pkrouss@wsu.edu
Dependent Site Percolation Models.
Lapin, Sergey
Scholarly Prof
Evrt 405
Evrt
425-405-1780
slapin@wsu.edu
Numerical modeling of biological fluids, fluid-structure interaction problems
Learn, Ryan
Teaching Asst Prof
Tri-Cities
509-372-7138
ryan.learn@wsu.edu
Li, Haijun
Prof, Tenure Track
Neill 317
Pullman
509-335-9812
liklu@wsu.edu
Copula Theory for Multivariate Extremes, Risk and Choquet Capacities, Free Probability under Group-Invariance
Liu, Sheng-Chi
Assoc Prof, Tenure Track
Neill 207
Pullman
509-335-8648
shengchi.liu@wsu.edu
Analytic number theory, especially on L-functions and analytic theory of automorphic forms on GL(n).
Manoranjan, V.S.
Prof, Tenure Track
Neill 231
Pullman
509-335-7811
mano@wsu.edu
MATHEMATICAL MODELING – Pattern Formation, Contaminant Transport, Spread of Diseases, Population Models & Solitons;COMPUTATIONAL MATHEMATICS – Finite Element/Finite Difference methods, Spectral methods, Operator Splitting methods, Iterative methods & Machine Learning;MATHEMATICS LEARNING – Interactive online lessons & Evidence-based Experiential learning
Martin, Jeanette
Teaching Assoc Prof
Neill 313
Pullman
509-335-4308
jcmartin@wsu.edu
Integrating Technology into the Classroom.
McDonald, Judith
Prof, Tenure Track
Neill 323
Pullman
509-335-3046
jmcdonald1@wsu.edu
Eventually nonnegative matrices, nonnegative matrices, M-matrices, inverse eigenvalue problem, spectrally arbitrary patterns.
McGrade, Frank
Teaching Asst Prof
Vancouver
360-546-9788
frank.mcgrade@wsu.edu
Mitchell, Dan
Teaching Asst Prof
Tri-Cities
509-372-7184
djmitchell@wsu.edu
Moore, Charles
Prof, Tenure Track
Neill 115/227
Pullman
509-335-4918
cnmoore@wsu.edu
Probabilistic behavior of harmonic functions, free boundary problems, Stefan problems
Morgan, Mindy
Teaching Asst Prof
-
Pullman
-
mindymorgan@wsu.edu
Teaching, statistics and applied mathematics.
Moyo, Peterson
Teaching Asst Prof
Neill 332
Pullman
509-335-3134
peterson.moyo@wsu.edu
Nichols, David
Lecturer
Neill 305
Pullman
509-335-3049
david.nichols@wsu.edu
Nurmukhametov, Gani
Teaching Asst Prof
Evrt 404
Evrt
(425) 405-1659
gani.nurmukhametov@wsu.edu
Teaching data analytics and statistics courses.
Oliver, Lydia
Teaching Asst Prof
Neill 129
Pullman
509-335-6971
lydia.oliver@wsu.edu
Teaching
Panchenko, Alexander
Prof, Tenure Track
Neill 329
Pullman
509-335-3127
panchenko@wsu.edu
Network approximation for effective parameters of concentrated suspensions, homogenization of unconsolidated composites and media with moving interfaces, modeling of osteoporosis and blood circulation, and inverse conductivity problem with rough conductivities.
Reiss, Daniel
Scholarly Asst Prof
Clev 130E
Pullman
509-335-0844
daniel.reiss@wsu.edu
Number theory, modular forms, mathematics education.
Remaley, Eric
Teaching Assoc Prof
Neill 315
Pullman
509-335-2134
ear@wsu.edu
Teaching
Rumyantseva, Olga
Adjunct
Vancouver
olga.rumyantseva@wsu.edu
Sablan, Emily
Teaching Assoc Prof
Neill 311
Pullman
509-335-7256
esablan@wsu.edu
Teaching
Sakabe, Chie
Teaching Asst Prof
Neill 130
Pullman
509-335-6293
c.sakabe@wsu.edu
Teaching
Salos, George
Teaching Asst Prof
Vancouver
360-546-9344
george.f.salos@wsu.edu
Teaching
Sawyer, Erica
Lecturer
Neill 128
Pullman
509-335-8192
erica.sawyer@wsu.edu
Schreyer, Lynn
Prof, Tenure Track
Neill 225
Pullman
509-335-3152
lynn.schreyer@wsu.edu
Deformation of, Flow through, Evaporation in Porous Media
Schwartz, Elissa
Assoc Prof, Tenure Track
Neill 309
Pullman
509-335-3142
ejs@wsu.edu
Coupling mathematical and experimental approaches to examine host-parasite dynamics and for the development of effective vaccines.
Selmi, Saranah
Teaching Asst Prof
Tri-Cities
509-372-7427
saranah.selmi@wsu.edu
Slavit, David
Prof, Tenure Track
Vancouver
360-546-9653
dslavit@wsu.edu
Teacher collaboration and research; Student learning.
Sotomayor, L. Rocio
Teaching Prof
Vancouver
360-546-9386
r.sotomayor@wsu.edu
Focus is on learning alternative teaching methods for mathematics in general, and for probability and financial/business mathematics in particular.
Strigul, Nikolay
Assoc Prof, Tenure Track
Vancouver
360-546-9655
nick.strigul@wsu.edu
Individual-based models, forest dynamics, ecotoxicology.
Sung, Jin
Teaching Asst Prof
Vancouver
360-546-9788
jin.sung@wsu.edu
Tsatsomeros, Michael
Prof, Tenure Track
Neill 229
Pullman
509-335-3144
tsat@wsu.edu
Linear algebra, matrix analysis, especially the theory of nonnegative matrices and their generalizations. Particular interests include the numerical range; graphs and patterns associated with matrices; numerical linear algebra; applications in dynamical systems, control theory, data analysis, machine learning and artificial intelligence.
Vixie, Kevin
Assoc Prof, Tenure Track
Neill 203
Pullman
kvixie@wsu.edu
Examples of research projects past and present: sparse dynamic tomography, the development of image metrics which ignore unimportant differences, the sharp characterization of minimizers to variational functionals like the L1TV and ROF functionals, the flat norm for images and shapes, analysis and geometric measure theory in metric spaces, and the propagation of uncertainty through image analysis.
Voulgarakis, Nikos
Assoc Prof, Tenure Track
Neill 325
Pullman
509-335-3136
n.voulgarakis@wsu.edu
Nonlinear Dynamics, Stochastic Processes, Fluid Dynamics at small scales, Mathematical Biology and Biophysics
Wang, Xueying/Snow
Assoc Prof, Tenure Track
Neill 201
Pullman
509-335-6996
xueying.wang@wsu.edu
Integrating techniques from the fields of dynamical systems, stochastic processes and statistics to develop and analyze mathematical models. Application areas: (a) computational neuroscience; (b) infectious disease modeling; (c) population ecology.
Wang, Yuan
Assoc Prof, Tenure Track
Neill 409
Pullman
509-335-3161
yuan.wang@wsu.edu
Objected-Oriented Data Analysis, Bayesian Statistics, Non-parametric methods, classification and clustering analysis
Wen, Xiaoming/Maureen
Teaching Asst Prof
Neill 305
Pullman
509-335-3049
maureenwen@wsu.edu
Teaching, statistics, and applied mathematics.
Wilhelm, Annie
Assoc Prof, Tenure Track
Neill 327
Pullman
335-8647
anne.wilhelm@wsu.edu
Mathematics education: mathematics teacher learning and practice.
Yin, Hong-Ming
Prof, Tenure Track
Neill 303
Pullman
509-335-7263
hyin@wsu.edu
Partial Differential Equations and Applications; Mathematical Modeling and Analysis in Life Sciences; Financial Engineering and Portfolio Management.
Zhang, Dawn
Teaching Assoc Prof
Neill 319
Pullman
509-335-0507
danzhang@wsu.edu
Graph Theory and Teaching.