COLLEGE OF ARTS AND SCIENCES Department of Mathematics and Statistics

Faculty

For inquiries about the graduate programs in mathematics or statistics, please contact the graduate coordinator at mathstat.gradinfo@lists.wsu.edu.

Asaki, Tom
Assoc Prof - Tenure Track
Neill 228
Pullman
509-335-3135
tasaki@wsu.edu
Quantitative radiograph analysis, methods for expensive optimization, mixed-variable optimization, uncertainty propagation in data analysis, discrete transformation discovery, and related software development.
Chen, Xiongzhi
Asst Prof - Tenure Track
Neill 230
Pullman
509-335-3150
xiongzhi.chen@wsu.edu
Adaptive false discovery rate methods for discrete test statistics, simultaneous inference under endogeneity and non-sparsity, testing locations and covariance matrices for high-dimensional data, statistical analysis of network data and image data.
Cooper, Kevin
Adjunct Prof
Neill 322
Pullman
509-335-4771
kcooper@wsu.edu
Data analysis and neural networks.
Dasgupta, Nairanjana
Prof - Tenure Track
Neill 403
Pullman
509-335-3736
dasgupta@wsu.edu
Genomics and Bio-informatics. Dealing with large scale multiplicity in genomic, proteomic and metabolomic data sets. Dealing with dependencies in binary and ordinal data. Modeling growth and bloom phases of WA apples. Multiple Comparisons, Comparison to Control, Logistic Distribution, Optimal Designs.
DeFord, Daryl
Asst Prof - Tenure Track
Neill 328
Pullman
509-335-7760
daryl.deford@wsu.edu
See http://www.math.wsu.edu/faculty/ddeford/Research_topics.php
Dimitrov, Alex
Assoc Prof - Tenure Track
Vancouver
509-336-9385
alex.dimitrov@vancouver.wsu.edu
Information-theoretic and probabilistic approaches to neural computing and cognitive processes; non-linear neuronal models; chaotic dynamical systems; non-linear signal processing and prediction; systems identification; neural-based intelligent agents. Bioinspired engineering.
Hall, William
Asst Prof - Tenure Track
Neill 219
Pullman
509-335-3170
w.hall@wsu.edu
Teaching and learning of calculus, interdisciplinary approaches to calculus, supporting instructor change.
Hudelson, Matthew
Assoc Prof - Tenure Track
Neill 330
Pullman
509-335-3125
mhudelson@wsu.edu
Probabilistic approaches to geometric and combinatorial problems, methods for maximizing content of a j-simplex bounded by the unit d-cube, and random walks on graphs.
Jandhyala, Krishna (Assoc Chair)
Prof - Tenure Track
Neill 407/121
Pullman
509-335-8450/ -8652
jandhyala@wsu.edu
The problem of multiple change-points in time-series with applications to environmental data.
Johnston, Anna
Adjunct Prof
-
Pullman
-
jannaston@gmail.com
Kaul, Abhishek
Asst Prof - Tenure Track
Neill 217
Pullman
509-335-5279
abhishek.kaul@wsu.edu
Khapalov, Alex
Prof - Tenure Track
Neill 307
Pullman
509-335-3172
khapala@wsu.edu
Analysis of swimming models, described by the coupled fluid and (integro-) ordinary differential equations, and their motion capabilities from the viewpoint of controllability theory. Controllability of linear and nonlinear partial differential equations, governed by multiplicative (bilinear) controls. Smart materials, point sensors and actuators, including mobile ones.
Krishnamoorthy, Bala
Prof - Tenure Track
Vancouver
360-546-9167
kbala@wsu.edu
Homology and norm computations on simplicial complexes, lattice-based approaches to integer optimization, computational approaches for protein structure and function, predictive models for medical applications.
Li, Haijun
Prof - Tenure Track
Neill 317
Pullman
509-335-9812
liklu@wsu.edu
Multivariate Extremes and Regular Variation, Risk and Cooperative Game, Copulas with Graph Structure.
Liu, Sheng-Chi
Assoc Prof - Tenure Track
Neill 207
Pullman
509-335-8648
shengchi.liu@wsu.edu
L-functions, analytic theory of automorphic forms on GL(n).
Manoranjan, V.S.
Prof - Tenure Track
Neill 231
Pullman
509-335-7811
mano@wsu.edu
Contaminant transport in groundwater, transdermal drug delivery, models for tumor growth and disease dynamics.
McDonald, Judith
Prof - Tenure Track
Neill 323
Pullman
509-335-3046
jmcdonald1@wsu.edu
Eventually nonnegative matrices, nonnegative matrices, M-matrices, inverse eigenvalue problem, spectrally arbitrary patterns.
Moore, Charles (Chair)
Prof - Tenure Track
Neill 115/227
Pullman
509-335-4918
cnmoore@wsu.edu
Probabilistic behavior of harmonic functions, free boundary problems, Stefan problems
Panchenko, Alexander
Prof - Tenure Track
Neill 329
Pullman
509-335-3127
panchenko@wsu.edu
Network approximation for effective parameters of concentrated suspensions, homogenization of unconsolidated composites and media with moving interfaces, modeling of osteoporosis and blood circulation, and inverse conductivity problem with rough conductivities.
Reiss, Daniel
Asst Prof - Career Track
Clev 130E
Pullman
-
daniel.reiss@wsu.edu
Schreyer, Lynn
Prof - Tenure Track
Neill 225
Pullman
509-335-3152
lynn.schreyer@wsu.edu
Deformation of, Flow through, Evaporation in Porous Media
Schwartz, Elissa
Assoc Prof - Tenure Track
Neill 309
Pullman
509-335-3142
ejs@wsu.edu
Coupling mathematical and experimental approaches to examine host-parasite dynamics and for the development of effective vaccines.
Slavit, David
Prof - Tenure Track
Vancouver
509-336-9653
dslavit@wsu.edu
Teacher collaboration and research; Student learning.
Strigul, Nikolay
Assoc Prof - Tenure Track
Vancouver
509-336-9655
nick.strigul@wsu.edu
Individual-based models, forest dynamics, ecotoxicology.
Tsatsomeros, Michael
Prof - Tenure Track
Neill 229
Pullman
509-335-3144
tsat@wsu.edu
Theory of nonnegative matrices and their generalizations. Methods to generate and detect special classes of matrices. Spectrum localization. Graphs and patterns associated with matrices. Applications in dynamical systems and control theory.
Vixie, Kevin
Assoc Prof - Tenure Track
Neill 203
Pullman
kvixie@wsu.edu
Examples of research projects past and present: sparse dynamic tomography, the development of image metrics which ignore unimportant differences, the sharp characterization of minimizers to variational functionals like the L1TV and ROF functionals, the flat norm for images and shapes, analysis and geometric measure theory in metric spaces, and the propagation of uncertainty through image analysis.
Voulgarakis, Nikos
Assoc Prof - Tenure Track
Neill 325
Pullman
509-335-3136
n.voulgarakis@wsu.edu
Nanoscale modeling and simulation of soft biological systems and complex fluids. Applications areas: a) gene and drug delivery, b) cell membrane dynamics, and c) energy transfer in biomolecules.
Wang, Xueying/Snow
Assoc Prof - Tenure Track
Neill 417
Pullman
509-335-6996
xueying.wang@wsu.edu
Integrating techniques from the fields of dynamical systems, stochastic processes and statistics to develop and analyze mathematical models. Application areas: (a) computational neuroscience; (b) infectious disease modeling; (c) population ecology.
Wang, Yuan
Assoc Prof - Tenure Track
Neill 409
Pullman
509-335-3161
yuan.wang@wsu.edu
Imaging data, functional data, tree-structured data object, optimization for high-dimensional data compression and algorithm design.
Yin, Hong-Ming
Prof - Tenure Track
Neill 303
Pullman
509-335-7263
hyin@wsu.edu
Asset-Pricing modeling; Portfolio Optimizations; Inverse and Ill-posed problems.