COLLEGE OF ARTS AND SCIENCES Department of Mathematics and Statistics
girls at WSU commencement


Below is a list of department scholarships that are available to undergraduate certified math majors and graduate students. Click here to learn how you can apply for scholarships.

A warm thank you to the donors of these scholarships for making them possible.

Newly Certified Students:

The Paul and Marjorie Clement Memorial Mathematics Scholarship is given to a newly certified superior student in mathematics. Selection is based on a variety of criteria. This scholarship which was first presented in 1981, is dedicated to the memory of Professor Paul A. Clement, a longtime member of the mathematics faculty at WSU, and his wife Marjorie, who served the institution for many years as a librarian.

Outstanding Freshman Students:

The Bell Freshman Mathematics Scholarship Award is given each spring to the outstanding freshman mathematics student who intends to return to WSU for his or her sophomore year. This scholarship has been given since 1978, and is named in honor of its original and primary donors, Douglas and Michele Bell, who were WSU students in the late 1960's and early 1970's.

Outstanding Sophomore Students:

The Knebelman Memorial Scholarship is presented each spring to the outstanding sophomore mathematics student who intends to return to WSU for his or her junior year. This scholarship has been given since 1982 in memory of Dr. Morris Knebelman, a long-time professor and head of the WSU Mathematics Department.

Outstanding Junior Students:

The J. Russell and Mildred H. Vatnsdal Memorial Scholarship is awarded each spring to the outstanding junior mathematics major who intends to return to WSU for his or her senior year. This award has been given since 1967 in memory of Professor J. Russell Vatnsdal who served as a member of the WSU Mathematics faculty for nearly forty years before his death in 1965.

Outstanding Senior Students:

The Knebelman Outstanding Senior Award is presented each spring to the outstanding graduating senior mathematics major. Originally set up in 1961, upon Professor Knebelman's retirement as the Knebelman Prize in Mathematics, the award was re-established under its new name in 1979. The recipient is awarded a plaque inscribed with his or her name.

Outstanding Undergraduate Students:
  • The Ames Family Scholarship in Mathematics was established in 2007 by Randall and Ina Ames who both graduated with degrees in mathematics in 1973. Both were born, raised, and pursued their careers in eastern Washington. Their two daughters also graduated from WSU. The scholarship is awarded to an outstanding junior or senior math major who graduated from an eastern Washington high school.
  • The Tom and Tarry Eastep Scholarship was established in 2010 by Tom and Tarry Eastep. Tom graduated from Washington State University in 1967. Tom credits scholarships from the Math Department for making his degree possible. The Easteps funded this endowment to assist current mathematics students with the opportunity Tom was given. This scholarship is awarded each spring to a student majoring in mathematics with a GPA of 3.5 or higher.
  • The Marianne Hawley Fessler Endowment in Mathematics Award, established in the spring of 1984, is given to an outstanding student in math or music. The award alternates each year between the Department of Mathematics and the Department of Music. The award is given in memory of its donor, Marianne Hawley Fessler, who graduated from WSU in 1934.
  • The Julie Kerr Scholarship in Mathematics was originally established in 2001 as the Department of Mathematics Undergraduate Endowment Fund and was re-established in 2007 in the name of the donor's daughter, Julie Kerr, who passed away in 2007. Julie Kerr graduated summa cum laude from WSU in 1992 with a BS in Mathematics. The donors want other undergraduate students to thrive and excel in mathematics in the same way their daughter did.
  • The Charles "Chuck" Millham Endowed Scholarship in Mathematics was established in 2012 by Chris and Geri Carlson who are both graduates of WSU. The Carlsons wish to recognize Chuck Millham, who not only demanded academic excellence of his students, but mentored them as individuals and encouraged them to develop their unique abilities. This award is given each spring to a student who uses analytical and critical thinking skills.
  • The Robert and Nancy Strong Scholarship in Mathematics was established in 2007. Robert Strong graduated from WSU in 1957 and established this scholarship fund out of his appreciation for education and the opportunities it provided him. He established this scholarship for students like himself, who are hardworking and appreciate the opportunity for a university education.
  • The Richard and Bonnie Winkwenwerder Scholarship in Mathematics was established in 2010 by the Winkwenwerders. Richard graduated from WSU in 1952 with a degree in mathematics, and enjoyed a rewarding position as a partner with the prestigious international consulting actuarial firm, Milliman, Inc. He credits the support he received at WSU with keeping his interest in actuarial science alive. This scholarship is to help interested and qualified students fulfill a desire to become an actuary.
For Outstanding Graduate Students in Research or Teaching:
  • The Sidney G. Hacker Graduate Research and Teaching Mathematics Awards were first awarded in 1987. These awards honor the late Sidney G. Hacker, a longtime faculty member and former department chair, who was instrumental in establishing the PhD program in Mathematics at WSU. The awards recognize excellence in graduate research and graduate teaching.
  • The Nancy J. Robertson Endowed Graduate Fellowship in Mathematics was established in 2006. Ms. Robertson received her undergraduate degree in mathematics from WSU in 1969 and went on to become a computer programmer. The award is given for research, teaching, and for being a great ambassador for the Graduate Program in Mathematics at Washington State University.
Outstanding Undergraduate and Graduate Students:

The William and Mary Lynn Graber Mathematics Development Endowment Fund Award, was established in 1999 to support the Department of Mathematics at WSU. William Graber graduated from WSU in 1965 with an undergraduate degree in mathematics. Both Mr. and Mrs. Graber are avid supporters and advocates of higher education and Washington State University.