COLLEGE OF ARTS AND SCIENCES Department of Mathematics and Statistics

Pullman

Professors


Name Title Office Phone Email
Asaki, Tom Assoc Prof Neill 228 335-3135 tasaki@wsu.edu
Applied optimization, image and data analysis.
Chen, Xiongzhi Asst Prof Neill 230 335-3150 xiongzhi.chen@wsu.edu
Multiple comparison, modeling with latent structure, properties of exponential families, analysis of non-Euclidean data, spectra of random matrices, inference on stochastic differential equations.
Dasgupta, Nairanjana Prof Neill 403 335-3736 dasgupta@wsu.edu
Non-parametric Statistics, Multiple Comparisons, Comparison to Control, Logistic Distribution, Optimal Designs, Design of Experiments, Innovative Methods of Teaching Statistics, The history of statistics.
DeFord, Daryl Asst Prof Neill 328 335-7760 daryl.deford@wsu.edu
Applications of algebraic and combinatorial methods in data analysis, particularly in the social sciences. Also spectral graph theory, complex networks, political redistricting, time series analysis, and enumerative combinatorics.
Dillon, Bob Prof Neill 324 335-5110 rhdillon@wsu.edu
Mathematical modeling, mathematical biology, numerical partial differential equations, computational biofluids.
Hall, William Asst Prof Neill 219 335-3170 w.hall@wsu.edu
Mathematics Education
Hudelson, Matthew Assoc Prof Neill 330 335-3125 mhudelson@wsu.edu
Combinatorics and Discrete Geometry, Random Algorithms.
Jandhyala, Krishna (Assoc Chair) Prof Neill 407/121 335-8450/ -8652 jandhyala@wsu.edu
Change-point problems for statistical models and their applications, Quality control, Environmental monitoring, Econometrics.
Kaul, Abhishek Asst Prof Neill 217 335-5279 abhishek.kaul@wsu.edu
High dimensional change point regression models; computational statistics and statistical learning.
Khapalov, Alex Prof Neill 307 335-3172 khapala@wsu.edu
Applied Analysis; Mathematical Control Theory for Linear and Nonlinear Partial Differential Equations; Modeling, Wellposedness and Motion Capabilities for Swimming Phenomenon; Systems Theory: Controllability, Stabilization, Observability and Unique Continuation; Control of Power Systems.
Liu, Sheng-Chi Assoc Prof Neill 207 335-8648 shengchi.liu@wsu.edu
Number theory, automorphic forms and representation theory.
Manoranjan, V.S. Prof Neill 231 335-7811 mano@wsu.edu
Environmental Problems, Industrial Applications, Mathematical & Computer Modeling.
McDonald, Judith Prof Neill 323 335-3046 jmcdonald1@wsu.edu
Matrix Analysis, Linear Algebra
Moore, Charles (Chair) Prof Neill 115/227 335-4918 cnmoore@wsu.edu
Analysis, Harmonic analysis, Partial Differential Equations, Probability Theory
Panchenko, Alexander Prof Neill 329 335-3127 panchenko@wsu.edu
Homogenization in Partial Differential Equations with Application to Materials Science, Accoustics of Porous Media and Granular Materials, Inverse Problems for Elliptic Equations, Mathematical Tomography.
Pascual, Francis/Jave Assoc Prof Neill 401 335-3126 jave@wsu.edu
Quality Assurance Methods, Process Monitoring by Control Charts, Engineering Reliability, Failure-Time Models and Data Analysis, Accelerated Life Tests.
Schreyer, Lynn Assoc Prof Neill 225 335-3152 lynn.schreyer@wsu.edu
Deterministic Modeling, PDEs, Continuum Mechanics
Schumaker, Mark Assoc Prof Neill 209 335-7273 schumaker@wsu.edu
Compartmental models of viral infections.
Schwartz, Elissa Assoc Prof Neill 309 335-3142 ejs@wsu.edu
Mathematical biology, differential equations, stochastic models, HIV, epidemiology, infectious diseases.
Tsatsomeros, Michael Prof Neill 229 335-3144 tsat@wsu.edu
Matrix theory, linear algebra and its applications.
Vixie, Kevin Assoc Prof Neill 203 kvixie@wsu.edu
1) Geometric Analysis, defined rather broadly to be geometric measure theory with pieces of harmonic and variational analysis as well as PDEs, including some aspects of geometry in high and infinite dimensions (e.g. concentration of measure, random projections), and 2) prototyping algorithms implementing ideas from 1) for data analysis challenges.
Voulgarakis, Nikos Assoc Prof Neill 325 335-3136 n.voulgarakis@wsu.edu
Numerical Analysis, Multiphysics/Multiscale Modeling, Stochastic Processes, Molecular and Fluid Dynamics, Nonlinear Dynamics.
Wang, Yuan Asst Prof Neill 409 335-3161 yuan.wang@wsu.edu
Statistical inference on complex data objects using Bayesian methods, nonparametric methods, and semi-parametric methods.
Wang, Xueying/Snow Assoc Prof Neill 417 335-6996 xueying.wang@wsu.edu
Mathematical Biology
Yin, Hong-Ming Prof Neill 303 335-7263 hyin@wsu.edu
Financial Engineering and Portfolio Management; Applied Mathematics; Partial Differential Equations, Inverse and Ill-posed problems; Electromagnetic Fields and Semiconductor/Superconductor modeling.

Everett

Professors


Name Title Office Phone Email
Li, Haijun Prof WSU Evrt 425-405-1780 liklu@wsu.edu
Probability, Stochastic Processes, Risk Analysis.

Vancouver

Professors


Name Title Office Phone Email
Dimitrov, Alex Assoc Prof WSU Vanc 336-9385 alex.dimitrov@vancouver.wsu.edu
Mathematical Modeling, Mathematical Neuroscience, Information Theory and Applied Probability.
Krishnamoorthy, Bala Prof WSU Vanc 336-9167 kbala@wsu.edu
Computational topology and geometry, linear and integer optimization, computational biology, biomedical informatics.
New, Leslie Asst Prof WSU Vanc 336-9309 leslie.new@wsu.edu
Hierarchical Bayesian state-space models to study species interactions with the environment, other species and con-specifics. Also using state-space, and other relevant statistical models, to investigate how changes in individual behavior due to disturbance, either anthropogenic or natural, can affect population dynamics.
Slavit, David Prof WSU Vanc 336-9653 dslavit@wsu.edu
Mathematics Education.
Strigul, Nikolay Assoc Prof WSU Vanc 336-9655 nick.strigul@wsu.edu
Theoretical and experimental ecology, complex adaptive systems, mathematical biology, biostatistics, scaling methods, application of mathematical modeling to ecological problems.

Pullman

Scholarly Professors


Name Title Office Phone Email
Johnson, Dean/Harry Scholarly Assoc Prof Neill 414 335-2907 dean_johnson@wsu.edu
Educational statistics, Teaching of statistics, Statistical consulting, Item response theory.
Kogan, Clark Scholarly Asst Prof Abelson 213 335-0508 clark.kogan@wsu.edu
Statistical consulting and computational statistics.
Lapin, Sergey Scholarly Prof Neill 405 335-3141 slapin@wsu.edu
Numerical modeling of wave phenomena, numerical simulation of fluid flow, infectious diseases modeling.
Reiss, Daniel Scholarly Asst Prof Clev 130E - daniel.reiss@wsu.edu
Number theory, modular forms, mathematics education.
Vincent, Kimberly Scholarly Assoc Prof Morrill 212 335-3143 kvincent@wsu.edu
Collegiate and pre-service mathematics education.

Tri-cities

Scholarly Professors


Name Title Office Phone Email
Fiedler, Kevin Scholarly Asst Prof WSU TC 509-372-7121 kevin.fiedler@wsu.edu
Image processing, hydrodynamics, mathematics education.

Vancouver

Scholarly Professors


Name Title Office Phone Email
Krouss, Paul Scholarly Assoc Prof WSU Vanc 360-546-9384 pkrouss@vancouver.wsu.edu
Percolation Theory
Salos, George Scholarly Asst Prof WSU Vanc 360-546-9344 george.f.salos@wsu.edu
-

Pullman

Teaching Professors


Name Title Office Phone Email
Eld, Justin Teaching Asst Prof Neill 129 335-6971 justin_eld@wsu.edu
Hampson, David Teaching Asst Prof Neill 128 335-8192 dhampson@wsu.edu
Geometry, History and Development of Mathematics, Math Education
Harrington, Susan Teaching Asst Prof Neill 305 335-3049 susan.harrington@wsu.edu
Middle School Mathematics (6-8)
Jacobs, Christy Teaching Asst Prof Neill 223 335-3737 christy_jacobs@wsu.edu
Lesperance, Mark Teaching Asst Prof Neill 400B 335-9808 mark.lesperance@wsu.edu
Property and casualty actuarial methods. Instruction on introductory actuarial techniques.
Martin, Jeanette Teaching Assoc Prof Neill 313 335-4308 jcmartin@wsu.edu
Mathematics Education.
Morgan, Mindy Teaching Asst Prof Neill 223 335-3737 mindymorgan@wsu.edu
Spread of infectious diseases, epidemiology, and compartmental modeling.
Oliver, Lydia Teaching Asst Prof Neill 129 335-6971 lydia.oliver@wsu.edu
Biological Mathematical Modeling
Pacioni, Claudia Teaching Asst Prof Neill 130 335-6293 cseifried@wsu.edu
Remaley, Eric Teaching Assoc Prof Neill 315 335-2134 ear@wsu.edu
Topology and Discrete Dynamic Systems.
Sablan, Emily Teaching Asst Prof Neill 129 335-6971 esablan@wsu.edu
Sakabe, Chie Teaching Asst Prof Neill 130 335-6293 c.sakabe@wsu.edu
Wen, Xiaoming Teaching Asst Prof Neill 305 335-3049 maureenwen@wsu.edu
Engineering reliability, data analysis, and mathematics education.
Zhang, Dawn Teaching Assoc Prof Neill 319 335-0507 danzhang@wsu.edu
Discrete mathematics, Combinatorics and Graph Theory.

Tri-cities

Teaching Professors


Name Title Office Phone Email
Learn, Ryan Teaching Asst Prof WSU TC 509-372-7138 ryan.learn@wsu.edu
Mitchell, Danny Teaching Asst Prof WSU TC 509-372-7184 djmitchell@wsu.edu
Selmi, Saranah Teaching Asst Prof WSU TC 509-372-7427 saranah.selmi@wsu.edu

Vancouver

Teaching Professors


Name Title Office Phone Email
Hill, David Teaching Asst Prof WSU Vanc 360-546-9788 david.hill@wsu.edu
Representation theory of finite groups and Lie theory.
Sotomayor, L. Rocio Teaching Assoc Prof WSU Vanc 360-546-9386 r.sotomayor@wsu.edu
General ideas of probability theory, stochastic analysis and stochastic control, and the application of these ideas to problems in Finance and Economics. I am also interested in applications to risk management and insurance, as well as regime switching models and business cycles.

Vancouver

Lecturer


Name Title Office Phone Email
Black, Sammy Lecturer WSU Vanc 360-546-9261 samson.black@wsu.edu

Pullman

Post-Doctoral


Name Title Office Phone Email
Alzaleq, Lewa Post Doc Neill 317 335-9812 lewa.alzaleq@wsu.edu
Nonlinear partial differential equations, mathematical & computer modeling, numerical analysis.
Hilliard, Zach Post Doc - - zachary.hilliard@wsu.edu
Parabolic and elliptic partial differential equations, numerical partial differential equations, Cahn-Hilliard equation.
Shaffer, Monte Post Doc Neill 317 335-9812 monte_shaffer@wsu.edu
Statistical computing & simulations, network analysis, natural-language processing, multiple comparison to control, innovation management, and data science.

Vancouver

Post-Doctoral


Name Title Office Phone Email
Erickson, Adam Post Doc WSU Vanc 360-546-9788 adam.erickson@wsu.edu
Forest ecosystem modeling
Pirotta, Enrico Post Doc WSU Vanc enrico.pirotta@wsu.edu
Population consequences of disturbance, marine ecology, behavioral ecology.

Pullman

Adjunct


Name Title Office Phone Email
Cooper, Kevin Adjunct Neill 322 335-4771 kcooper@wsu.edu
Numerical analysis, differential equations, scientific computing. Head of mathematics computing operations.
Johnston, Anna Adjunct - - jannaston@gmail.com

Vancouver

Adjunct


Name Title Office Phone Email
DeBower, Kari Adjunct Vanc kari.debower@wsu.edu
McGrade, Frank Adjunct WSU Vanc 360-546-9788 frank.mcgrade@wsu.edu
Sottile, Matthew Adjunct WSU Vanc - matthew.sottile@wsu.edu
Image processing, modeling and simulation, data science, discrete mathematics.
Sung, Jin Sun Adjunct WSU Vanc 360-546-9788 jin.sung@wsu.edu
Valenciano, Julissa Adjunct Vanc 360-546-9788 julissa.valenciano@wsu.edu

Pullman

Adjoint


Name Title Office Phone Email
Tosic, Predrag Adjoint - - predrag.tosic@wsu.edu
-

Pullman

Professors Emeriti


Name Title Office Phone Email
Alldredge, Richard Emeritus - - alldredg@wsu.edu
Ariyawansa, Ari Emeritus - - ari@wsu.edu
Barnes, David Emeritus - -
Cooper, Sandra Emeritus Neill 332 335-3134 sccooper@wsu.edu
Mathematics Education, Rational Approximation, Continued Fractions
DeTemple, Duane Emeritus - -
Evans, Marc Emeritus - 335-8647 marcevan@wsu.edu
Estimation for generalized linear mixed models, population size estimation and inference for designed experiments with discrete response variables.
Genz, Alan Emeritus Neill 232 335-2131 genz@math.wsu.edu
Numerical Integration, Multiple Integrals, Statistical Analysis.
Jacroux, Michael Emeritus Neill 205 335-3130 jacroux@math.wsu.edu
Experimental design, linear models, and quality control.
Johnson, Roy Emeritus - -
Jordan, J.H. Emeritus - -
Kallaher, Mike Emeritus Neill 331 335-3132 mkallaher@wsu.edu
Kent, Darrell Emeritus - -
Knott, Libby Emeritus Neill 301 335-4122 lknott@wsu.edu
K-16 mathematics education and professional development.
Kucera, Jan Emeritus - -
Long, Calvin Emeritus - -
Mifflin, Robert Emeritus Neill 201 335-3153 mifflin@math.wsu.edu
Milham, Chuck Emeritus - -
Nazareth, Larry Emeritus - -
NG, Dina Emeritus - -
Saunders, S.C. Emeritus - -
Watkins, David Emeritus Neill 311 335-7256 watkins@math.wsu.edu
Webb, William Emeritus - - webb@math.wsu.edu
Wiser, H.C. Emeritus - -
Wollkind, David Emeritus - - dwollkind@wsu.edu