COLLEGE OF ARTS AND SCIENCES Department of Mathematics and Statistics

Pullman

Professors


Name Title Office Phone Email
Asaki, Tom Assoc Prof Neill 228 335-3135 tasaki@math.wsu.edu
Applied optimization, image and data analysis.
Chen, Xiongzhi Asst Prof Neill 230 335-3150 xchen@math.wsu.edu
Multiple comparison, modeling with latent structure, properties of exponential families, analysis of non-Euclidean data, spectra of random matrices, inference on stochastic differential equations.
Cooper, Sandra Assoc Prof Neill 332 335-3134 scooper@math.wsu.edu
Mathematics Education, Rational Approximation, Continued Fractions
Dasgupta, Nairanjana Prof Neill 403 335-3736 ndasgupta@math.wsu.edu
Non-parametric Statistics, Multiple Comparisons, Comparison to Control, Logistic Distribution, Optimal Designs, Design of Experiments, Innovative Methods of Teaching Statistics, The history of statistics.
Dillon, Bob Prof Neill 324 335-5110 dillon@math.wsu.edu
Mathematical modeling, mathematical biology, numerical partial differential equations, computational biofluids.
Dong, Hongbo Asst Prof Neill 409 335-7760 hdong@math.wsu.edu
Mathematical Optimization/Programming; Convex Conic Optimization and Copositive Programming; Mixed Integer Nonlinear Programming; Optimization Modeling.
Evans, Marc Prof Neill 405 335-8647 mevans@math.wsu.edu
Estimation for generalized linear mixed models, population size estimation and inference for designed experiments with discrete response variables.
Genz, Alan Prof Neill 232 335-2131 genz@math.wsu.edu
Numerical Integration, Multiple Integrals, Statistical Analysis.
Hall, William Asst Prof Neill 219 335-3170 whall@math.wsu.edu
Mathematics Education
Hudelson, Matthew Assoc Prof Neill 330 335-3125 hudelson@math.wsu.edu
Combinatorics and Discrete Geometry, Random Algorithms.
Jacroux, Michael Prof Neill 205 335-3130 jacroux@math.wsu.edu
Experimental design, linear models, and quality control.
Jandhyala, Krishna (Assoc Chair) Prof Neill 407/121 335-8450/ -8652 jandhyala@math.wsu.edu
Change-point problems for statistical models and their applications, Quality control, Environmental monitoring, Econometrics.
Kaul, Abhishek Asst Prof Neill 217 335-5279 akaul@math.wsu.edu
-
Khapalov, Alex Prof Neill 307 335-3172 khapala@wsu.edu
Applied Analysis; Mathematical Control Theory for Linear and Nonlinear Partial Differential Equations; Modeling, Wellposedness and Motion Capabilities for Swimming Phenomenon; Systems Theory: Controllability, Stabilization, Observability and Unique Continuation; Control of Power Systems.
Knott, Libby Prof Neill 301 335-4122 lknott@wsu.edu
K-16 mathematics education and professional development.
Liu, Sheng-Chi Asst Prof Neill 207 335-8648 scliu@math.wsu.edu
Number theory, automorphic forms and representation theory.
Manoranjan, V.S. Prof Neill 231 335-7811 mano@wsu.edu
Environmental Problems, Industrial Applications, Mathematical & Computer Modeling.
McDonald, Judith Prof Neill 323 335-3046 jmcdonald@math.wsu.edu
Matrix Analysis, Linear Algebra
Moore, Charles (Chair) Prof Neill 115/227 335-4918 cnmoore@math.wsu.edu
Analysis, Harmonic analysis, Partial Differential Equations, Probability Theory
Panchenko, Alexander Prof Neill 329 335-3127 panchenko@math.wsu.edu
Homogenization in Partial Differential Equations with Application to Materials Science, Accoustics of Porous Media and Granular Materials, Inverse Problems for Elliptic Equations, Mathematical Tomography.
Pascual, Francis (Jave) Assoc Prof Neill 401 335-3737 jpascual@math.wsu.edu
Engineering Reliability, Failure-Time Models and Data Analysis, Robust Designs in Accelerated Life Tests.
Schreyer, Lynn Assoc Prof Neill 225 335-3152 lschreyer@math.wsu.edu
Deterministic Modeling, PDEs, Continuum Mechanics
Schumaker, Mark Assoc Prof Neill 209 335-7273 schumaker@math.wsu.edu
Models of respiratory and photosynthetic electron transport.
Schwartz, Elissa Assoc Prof Neill 309 335-3142 schwartz@math.wsu.edu
Mathematical biology, differential equations, stochastic models, HIV, epidemiology, infectious diseases.
Tsatsomeros, Michael Prof Neill 229 335-3144 tsat@math.wsu.edu
Matrix theory, linear algebra and its applications.
Vixie, Kevin Assoc Prof Neill 203 - vixie@speakeasy.net
1) Geometric Analysis, defined rather broadly to be geometric measure theory with pieces of harmonic and variational analysis as well as PDEs, including some aspects of geometry in high and infinite dimensions (e.g. concentration of measure, random projections), and 2) prototyping algorithms implementing ideas from 1) for data analysis challenges.
Voulgarakis, Nikos Asst Prof Neill 325 335-3136 nvoul@math.wsu.edu
Numerical Analysis, Multiphysics/Multiscale Modeling, Stochastic Processes, Molecular and Fluid Dynamics, Nonlinear Dynamics.
Wang, Xueying(Snow) Asst Prof Neill 417 335-6996 xueying@math.wsu.edu
Mathematical Biology
Wang, Yuan Asst Prof Neill 328 335-3161 ywang@math.wsu.edu
Statistical inference on complex data objects using Bayesian methods, nonparametric methods, and semi-parametric methods.
Yin, Hong-Ming Prof Neill 303 335-7263 hyin@wsu.edu
Financial Engineering and Portfolio Management; Applied Mathematics; Partial Differential Equations, Inverse and Ill-posed problems; Electromagnetic Fields and Semiconductor/Superconductor modeling.

Everett

Professors


Name Title Office Phone Email
Li, Haijun Prof WSU Evrt 425-405-1780 liklu@wsu.edu
Probability, Stochastic Processes, Risk Analysis.

Vancouver

Professors


Name Title Office Phone Email
Dimitrov, Alex Assoc Prof WSU Vanc 336-9385 alex.dimitrov@vancouver.wsu.edu
Mathematical Modeling, Mathematical Neuroscience, Information Theory and Applied Probability.
Krishnamoorthy, Bala Assoc Prof WSU Vanc 336-9167 kbala@wsu.edu
Computational topology and geometry, linear and integer optimization, computational biology, biomedical informatics.
New, Leslie Asst Prof WSU Vanc 336-9309 leslie.new@wsu.edu
Hierarchical Bayesian state-space models to study species interactions with the environment, other species and con-specifics. Also using state-space, and other relevant statistical models, to investigate how changes in individual behavior due to disturbance, either anthropogenic or natural, can affect population dynamics.
Slavit, David Prof WSU Vanc 336-9653 dslavit@wsu.edu
Mathematics Education.
Strigul, Nikolay Asst Prof WSU Vanc 336-9655 nick.strigul@wsu.edu
Theoretical and experimental ecology, complex adaptive systems, mathematical biology, biostatistics, scaling methods, application of mathematical modeling to ecological problems.

Pullman

Clinical Professors


Name Title Office Phone Email
Johnson, Harry (Dean) Clinical Assoc Prof Neill 414 335-2907 djohnson@math.wsu.edu
Educational statistics, Teaching of statistics, Statistical consulting, Item response theory.
Lapin, Sergey Clinical Assoc Prof Neill 327 335-3141 slapin@math.wsu.edu
Numerical modeling of wave phenomena, numerical simulation of fluid flow, infectious diseases modeling.
Vincent, Kimberly Clinical Assoc Prof Morrill 212 335-3143 vincent@math.wsu.edu
Collegiate and pre-service mathematics education.

Vancouver

Post-Doctoral


Name Title Office Phone Email
Pirotta, Enrico Post Doc WSU Vanc - enrico.pirotta@wsu.edu
Population consequences of disturbance, marine ecology, behavioral ecology.

Pullman

Adjunct Faculty


Name Title Office Phone Email
Brown, Dave Adjunct - 335-1859 data.analytics@wsu.edu
Data Analytics
Cooper, Kevin Adjunct Neill 322 335-4771 kcooper@math.wsu.edu
Numerical analysis, differential equations, scientific computing. Head of mathematics computing operations.
Hamlin, Nathan Adjunct Clev 130 335-0844 nhamlin@math.wsu.edu
Currently working primarily in Number Theory (Elementary, Analytic, Computational, and Cryptography) and Combinatorics
Tosic, Predrag Adjunct - 335-0393 predrag.tosic@wsu.edu
Complex networks; discrete dynamical systems; graph theory & algorithms; cellular & graph automata; combinatorial, graph and distributed algorithms; data science; theoretical computer science, AI, information retrieval & NLP, game theory.
Xantheas, Sotiris Adjunct - - sxantheas@math.wsu.edu
Structures, vibrational spectra, electric properties and energetics of aqueous clusters; Quantitative description of many-body non-additive effects in clusters and condensed phase environments; Development of interaction potentials based on first principles to study water, ice and aqueous solvation of ions.
Zhang, Jingyang Adjunct - - jzhang@math.wsu.edu
Diagnostic testing; Survival data analysis; Longitudinal data analysis; Clinical trials.

Vancouver

Adjunct Faculty


Name Title Office Phone Email
Kim, Seok Ju Adjunct WSU Vanc 360-546-9788 seok.kim@wsu.edu
Kiser, Kim Adjunct WSU Vanc 360-546-9788 kkiser@wsu.edu
McGrade, Frank Adjunct WSU Vanc 360-546-9788 frank.mcgrade@wsu.edu
-
Nguyen, Kenny Adjunct WSU Vanc 360-546-9788 kenny.nguyen@wsu.edu
(1) Multilevel methods to study adolescent reactivity to daily stressors, (2) Learning trajectories and assessment in mathematics education, and curriculum and instruction (specifically the use of proficiency based assessment, open mathematical mindsets, and inclusive pedagogical practices to support students in learning real analysis
Pham, Autumn Adjunct WSU Vanc 360-546-9788 autumn.pham@wsu.edu
Factorization of polynomials modulo a prime, algebraic number theory, algorithms developed by Berlekamp, Zassenhaus, Shoup and others for factorizing arbitrary polynomials.
Rhodes, Anthony Adjunct WSU Vanc 360-546-9788 anthony.rhodes@wsu.edu
-
Simmons, Richard Adjunct WSU Vanc 360-546-9788 rick.simmons@wsu.edu

Pullman

Senior Instructors


Name Title Office Phone Email
Martin, Jeanette Sr. Instructor Neill 313 335-4308 martin@math.wsu.edu
Mathematics Education.
Remaley, Eric Sr. Instructor Neill 315 335-2134 remaley@math.wsu.edu
Topology and Discrete Dynamic Systems.
Zhang, Dawn Sr. Instructor Neill 319 335-0507 dzhang@math.wsu.edu
Discrete mathematics, Combinatorics and Graph Theory.

Vancouver

Senior Instructors


Name Title Office Phone Email
Mapes, Eric Sr. Instructor WSU Vanc 336-9261 eric_mapes@wsu.edu
-
Sotomayor, L. Rocio Sr. Instructor WSU Vanc 360-546-9386 r.sotomayor@wsu.edu
General ideas of probability theory, stochastic analysis and stochastic control, and the application of these ideas to problems in Finance and Economics. I am also interested in applications to risk management and insurance, as well as regime switching models and business cycles.

Pullman

Instructors


Name Title Office Phone Email
Allen, David Instructor Neill 128 335-8192 dallen@math.wsu.edu
Bean, Julie Instructor Neill 215 335-3154 julie_bean@wsu.edu
Eld, Justin Instructor Neill 129 335-6971 jeld@math.wsu.edu
-
Hampson, David Instructor Neill 128 335-8192 dhampson@math.wsu.edu
Geometry, History and Development of Mathematics, Math Education
Harrington, Susan Instructor Neill 305 335-3049 sharrington@math.wsu.edu
Middle School Mathematics (6-8)
Lesperance, Mark Instructor Neill 400B 335-9808 mlesperance@math.wsu.edu
Property and casualty actuarial methods. Instruction on introductory actuarial techniques.
Miller, Lydia Instructor Neill 129 335-6971 lmiller@math.wsu.edu
Biological Mathematical Modeling
Morgan, Mindy Instructor Neill 305 335-3049 mmorgan@math.wsu.edu
Spread of infectious diseases, epidemiology, and compartmental modeling.
Pacioni, Claudia Instructor Neill 130 335-6293 pacioni@gmail.com
-
Sablan, Emily Instructor Neill 129 335-6293 esablan@math.wsu.edu
Sakabe, Chie Instructor Neill 130 335-6293 csakabe@math.wsu.edu
-
Wen, Xiaoming Instructor Neill 305 335-3049 xwen@math.wsu.edu
Engineering reliability, data analysis, and mathematics education.

Vancouver

Instructors


Name Title Office Phone Email
Hill, David Instructor WSU Vanc 360-546-9788 david.hill@wsu.edu
Representation theory of finite groups and Lie theory.
Krouss, Paul Instructor WSU Vanc 360-546-9384 pkrouss@vancouver.wsu.edu
Percolation Theory
Salos, George Instructor WSU Vanc 360-546-9344 george.f.salos@wsu.edu
-

Vancouver

Affiliate Graduate Faculty


Name Title Office Phone Email
Sottile, Matthew Affiliate Grad Faculty WSU Vanc - msottile@math.wsu.edu
Image processing, modeling and simulation, data science, discrete mathematics.

Pullman

Professors Emeriti


Name Title Office Phone Email
Alldredge, Richard Emeritus - - alldredg@wsu.edu
Ariyawansa, Ari Emeritus - - ari@wsu.edu
Barnes, David Emeritus - -
DeTemple, Duane Emeritus - -
Johnson, Roy Emeritus - -
-
Jordan, J.H. Emeritus - -
-
Kallaher, Mike Emeritus Neill 331 335-3132 mkallaher@wsu.edu
-
Kent, Darrell Emeritus - -
-
Kucera, Jan Emeritus - -
-
Long, Calvin Emeritus - -
-
Mifflin, Robert Emeritus Neill 201 335-3153 mifflin@math.wsu.edu
-
Milham, Chuck Emeritus - -
-
Nazareth, Larry Emeritus - -
-
NG, Dina Emeritus - -
-
Saunders, S.C. Emeritus - -
Watkins, David Emeritus Neill 311 335-7256 watkins@math.wsu.edu
Webb, William Emeritus - - webb@math.wsu.edu
Wiser, H.C. Emeritus - -
Wollkind, David Emeritus - - dwollkind@wsu.edu