MATH 543 SCHEDULE
Spring 2011, Dr. Genz


P = Phillips book, BN = Boggess and Narcowich book.
Week: Date DaySection(s): Lecture Topic Assignments
1: Jan. 11 Tues P1.1: Introduction, Lagrange Formula P1.1:1, 2, 3, 4, 6, 7
1: Jan. 13 Thurs P1.2-3: Newton Formula P1.3:1, 2, 4
2: Jan. 18 Tues P2.1: Least Squares, Legendre Polynomials P2.1:3, 4, 8, 9, 12
2: Jan. 20 Thurs P2.2: Chebyshev Polynomials, P2.2:7, 8, 13, 18, 21
3: Jan. 25 Tues P2.3: Discrete Approximation P2.3:1, 4
3: Jan. 27 Thurs P2.4: Minimax Approximation Theory P2.4:1, 2, 3, 7, 9; Project 1 Start
4: Feb. 1 TuesP2.4: Minimax Algorithms, Rational Approximation P1.1-2.3 Work Due:
4: Feb. 3 Thurs P2.5-6: Lebesgue Function, Continuity Modulus P2.6:1, 2, 3
5: Feb. 8 Tues P3.1: Interpolatory Integration P3.1:5, 8, 9
5: Feb. 10 Thurs P3.3: Gauss Rules P3.3:2, 3, 4
6: Feb. 15 Tues P5.1: Multivariate Interpolation P5.1:4, 6, 7; Project 1 Due;
6: Feb. 17 Thurs P5.2-3: Multivariate Interpolatory Integration P5.2:4, 5, 6
7: Feb. 22 Tues P6.1-2: Spline Introduction, B-Splines P6.2:1, 5, 6; Project 2 Start
7: Feb. 24 Thurs P6.2-3: B-Spline Interpolation P6.3:1, 2, 5; P2.4-5.2 Work Due
8: March 1 Tues BN1.1-2: Fourier Series BN1:1, 8, 15
8: March 3 Thurs BN1.3: Fourier Series Convergence BN1:19, 22, 28
9: March 8 Tues BN2.1: Fourier Transform BN2.1, 3
9: March 10 Thurs BN2.2: Fourier Transform Properties BN2:5, 6; Project 2 Due
X: March 14-18 Spring Break, No Classes
10: March 22 Tues BN2.3-4: Linear Filters, Sampling Theorem BN2:10, 11
10: March 24 Thurs BN3.1.1-2: Discrete Fourier Transform BN3:7, 8, 9, 14
11: March 29 Tues BN3.1.3-4: Fast Fourier Transform P6.1-3, BN1.1-2.6 Work Due
11: March 31 Thurs BN4.1-2: Haar Wavelet Introduction BN4:1, 4, 5, 6
12: April 5 Tues BN4.3-4: Haar Wavelet Algorithms Project 3A: BN4:8, 9, 10, 11
12: April 7 Thurs BN5.1: Multiresolution Analysis Framework BN5:1, 4, 8b-d, 9, 11, 18
13: April 12 Tues BN5.2: Multiresolution Algorithms BN2.10-4.11 Work Due
13: April 14 Thurs BN5.3: FT Wavelet Analysis
14: April 19 Tues BN6.1-2: Daubechies Wavelets
14: April 21 Thurs BN6.3-4: Daubechies Wavelet Computation Project 3B: BN6:4, 5, 6, 8
15: April 26 Tues BN7.1-3: Other Wavelet Topics
15: April 28 Thurs Course Summary
16: May 4 Wed 5PM Deadline for Final Coursework Project 3, BN5.1-6.8 Work Due