Math 364 Spring 2016 Schedule

Textwork assigned each week is due on the Tuesday of the following week.
Week: Date DayLecture Topics Text Assignments
1: January 12 Tuesday Sec 1.1-4: Mathematical Modeling and LP Intro
1: January 14 Thursday Sec 2.1-2: LP History, Blending Models 2.2:6,8,9,12,15; Hwk 1 Key
2: January 19 Tuesday Sec 2.3: Production Models 2.3:7,10,14,18,21
2: January 21 Thursday Sec 2.4-5: Transportation, Dynamic Planning Models 2.4:4,7; 2.5:5,7,10; Hwk 2 Key
3: January 26 Tuesday Sec 3.1: General LP Problems 3.1:3ef,5,7
3: January 28 Thursday Sec 3.2: Linear Equations, Basic Feasible Solutions 3.2:1c,3,7,8,12; ; Hwk 3 Key
4: February 2 Tuesday Sec 3.3-4: Simplex Algorithm Intro and Theory 3.3:2,3; 3.4:2adf,4
4: February 4 Thursday Sec 3.5: Simplex Tableau and Examples 3.5:1cde,2cdf; Hwk 4 Key
5: February 9 Tuesday Sec 3.6-7: Artificial Variables, Redundant Systems 3.6:2acg,3; 3.7:3cdg
5: February 11 Thursday Sec 3.8: Simplex Algorithm Convergence Theory 3.8:1,2,4,6; Hwk 5 Key
6: February 16 Tuesday Sec 3.9: Convexity and LP's; Midterm Exam 1 Review
6: February 18 ThursdayChapters 1-3 Midterm Exam 1 In Class; Solution Key
7: February 23 Tuesday Sec 4.1-2: Duality Introduction and Definitions 4.1:1,2; 4.2:1de,2
7: February 25 Thursday Sec 4.3: Duality Examples and Interpretations 4.3:1,3,4; Hwk 6 Key
8: March 1 Tuesday Sec 4.4: Duality Theorem 4.4:3,6,7,10ace
8: March 3 Thursday Sec 4.5: Complementary Slackness 4.5:2,3abdf; Hwk 7 Key
9: March 8 Tuesday Sec 5.1: Sensitivity Analysis Intro 5.1:6,7,13,15
9: March 10 Thursday Sec 5.2: Simplex Algorithm Matrix Representation 5.2:1,2,5,6; Hwk 8 Key
X: March 14-18Spring Break, No Classes
10: March 22 Tuesday Sec 5.3: Objective Function Sensitivity 5.3:3,4,5,9
10: March 24 Thursday Sec 5.4-5: New Variable, Constant Term Sensitivity 5.4:2,3; 5.5:2,4,5; Hwk 9 Key
11: March 29 Tuesday Sec 5.6: Dual Simplex Algorithm 5.6:3,4,5,6
11: March 31 Thursday Sec 5.7: New Constraint Sensitivity 5.7:2ad,3,4ce,5; Hwk 10 Key
12: April 5 Tuesday Midterm Exam 2 Review
12: April 7 Thursday Chapters 4-5 Midterm Exam 2 In Class; Solution Key
13: April 12 Tuesday Sec 6.1-2: Integer Programming Intro and Examples 6.1:1,3; 6.2:8,10,14,17
13: April 14 Thursday Sec 6.3: Gomory's Cutting Plane Algorithm 6.3:2acd,6; Hwk 11 Key
14: April 19 Tuesday Sec 6.4: Branch and Bound Algorithm 6.4:1ac,2b
14: April 21 Thursday Sec 7.1: Distribution Problems 7.1:1bdgh
15: April 26 Tuesday Sec 7.2: Transportation Problems 7.2:1bd,3b,5; Hwk 12 Key
15: April 28 Thursday Final Exam Review
16: May 5 ThursdayChapters 1-7 Final Exam 10:10-12:10 Fulm 150